Meet Don Quioxote, Paul Schoeffler

tags: 
Posted by: Pia Haas on Tuesday, March 29, 2016 at 12:00:00 am

  

I grew up in Canada. I was born in Montreal and at a very young age,  we moved to Toronto until the age of thirteen, when my dad, who was German, moved us all to England.

I attended a tutorial school in London to learn the English curriculum and managed to get into a public school called Pangbourne, which had been primarily a training school to send kids into the military or merchant marine.

After 5 years there, I moved to Brussels, Belgium where my family had by then moved.  I attended the University of Brussels to learn French. I also worked a lot with Belgian truck drivers which was an experience. My list of French epithets is long.

At 19,  I moved to California to attend school at UC Berkeley and then Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh, before making my way to NYC in the mid 80's

I was in crisis about what to do with my life at 19, when I discovered acting at the 2-year college I was attending in California. I was behind the curve and worked extremely hard to hone my skills

I can't remember the first time I saw or heard Man Of La Mancha. I have seen the movie and they made a bit of a hash of it. I have done the role twice before. The first time I was a little overwhelmed but now not so much. Although I have a healthy respect for it's demands. It is definitely exhausting...but exhilarating!

This is my first time at WBT and I am having a terrific time. Every one has been extremely nice and hard working. And I live 15 minutes away so the commute is a perk!!

The reason I chose to go into music theatre was the experience of hearing the original musical 'Sweeney Todd'. It changed my life. Oddly, many of my peers had the same experience. I would love to have another try at that role. I did it when I was young and had no clue about what I was doing.

I love doing new work and working with new composers and writers. Originating something new...like Rock of Ages ...is definitely a fun experience.

When I am not on stage, I am very much a family guy. I have two kids who take up a lot of time and energy. I Love my wife. I teach privately and at times at institutions like NYU.

I am a work out nut. I love tennis and sports in general. I read a lot and am very much up on what is happening in the world.

I am working on a media training business with a partner in Los Angeles. I also do voice over work quite frequently and very recently did a one-hour National Geographic special.

I don't live on my hand -held device so can't say I have anything particularly outrageous to share. Love music. Got lots of pics of family and friends.

Comments

Saw show. You were wonderfull Man of LaMancha!
Posted by: Edie on April 10, 2016 at 10:38:25 pm

Leave a Comment